State Preserves 83 Rural Legacy Acres Along Deer Creek

December 15, 2010 by deercreekmd 

Governor Martin O’Malley today announced Board of Public Works (BPW) approval to preserve 83 acres of Maryland’s landscape on two properties in Harford County in the Deer Creek Rural Legacy Area.

“Protecting forestland not only preserves Maryland’s heritage and working landscapes for future generations, but it provides important stormwater runoff protection to our waterways,” said Governor Martin O’Malley.

One easement, known as the Williams Property, will permanently protect 66 acres of forest land in Harford County, and lies immediately adjacent Rocks State Park. The forest land on this property will be managed under a Forest Management Plan, and will extinguish five development rights.

“The Williams property is located on the banks of Deer Creek, with approximately 2,400 feet of stream frontage,” said Ned Sayer, agricultural preservation administrator for Harford County. “The Williams easement will become part of a large contiguous block of easement-protected lands. This block is adjacent to Rocks State Park and consists of over 850 acres, buffering over 2 miles of both Deer Creek and Little Deer Creek, as well as numerous tributaries.”

Another easement, known as the Porter Property, will permanently protect 17 acres of forest land in Harford County, and will establish a conservation protection along a stretch of Deer Creek now largely unprotected. This easement completes protection of a series of parcels owned by the same family.

The Deer Creek Rural Legacy Area totals 66,701 acres, of which approximately 32,360 acres are protected.

Maryland’s Rural Legacy Program provides funding to preserve large tracts of forestry and agricultural land and natural resources, and for environmental protection while sustaining land for natural resource-based industries. Enacted by the General Assembly in 1997, Maryland’s Rural Legacy Program has to date provided over $207 million to protect 68,675 acres of valuable farmland, forests, and natural areas. The 11-member Rural Legacy Advisory Committee and the Rural Legacy Board, which is comprised of Maryland’s Agriculture, Natural Resources and Planning Secretaries, reviews grant applications annually. For additional information, visit

Enter Google AdSense Code Here


Comments are closed.